The Princess Bride

“Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.”

This is the sort of entry my Reading List was made for: The Princess Bride(1987).
I’m pretty sure I never came across this film when I was a child but as I got more and more into geek culture, particularly online, I couldn’t help but come to the conclusion that a large percentage of the internet might make more sense if I watched it.* Hence why it was on the list. The other day I finally got round to watching it in a very unplanned way. It was part of a long conservation attempting to educate someone in geek (try translating “My cinnamon rolls’ ship is canon. OMG they’re my OTP.” to someone who has never been on Tumblr) and I was telling them about The Princess Bride being ‘a thing’ on the interwebs when they suggested we watch it – so we did.
I’m about to admit something terrible: I don’t get it. I’m not saying I don’t like it, it’s a fun, entertaining movie, but why is it such a big thing in geekdom?? I admire how it is such a cult classic ingrained into popular culture so deeply that I could recite the line “Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.” ages before I’d watched the film, before I knew where the quote was from even! But like many cults it can be hard to see why the cult’s so obsessed.
To summarise The Princess Bride: nice movie, awesome sword-fights, not exactly the most feminist but undeniably an extremely quotable cult classic. I may never really get why it is so loved but at least I will catch/understand way more references to it now. 🙂

TTFN!

*Another large percentage of the internet makes more sense once you’ve seenMean Girls fyi.

